Book Reading · Uncategorized

WWW Wednesday February 10, 2016

I made more progress this week! Here’s the reading meme, hosted by samanneelizabeth. If you’re in a rush, just read about Spark under recently finished!

img_1384-0

Three W’s:
What are you currently reading?
What did you recently finish reading?
What do you think you’ll read next?

What I’m Reading:

 

51VxIaxp+8L._SX328_BO1,204,203,200_

The Siren by Kiera Cass

So far I really like this, though it is a lot darker than I had anticipated. I suppose I should have been tipped off by the word siren. The love interest seems really sweet and a bit goofy in a good way. I’m anxious to see where this story leads!

 

 

 

What I recently read:

23460952

Bounce by Noelle August

The first half of this book was amazing. I loved Grey and Skyler so much. But the second half took a turn into snooze-ville. I stopped caring whether Grey and Skyler ended up together. The only secondary character I loved was Garrett; he was hilarious and perceptive as crap. Beth was cool but still kinda meh. Hopefully, I’ll like Mia more when I read Boomerang, the first book in this trilogy which follows her story. I hated Brooks and Kaitlin and Skyler’s dad. It was an enjoyable read and all, but I disliked how everything came together at the end in this little too-neat package.

12977172

Spark by Brigid Kemmerer

Holy crap. This book. I absolutely LOVED it! I thought Storm was good, but Spark knocked it out of the park. Gabriel and Layne were both fantastic, enjoyable, well-developed characters. There were no stupid love triangles, just the natural progression of two people getting to know one another and growing to care for one another. Both characters had equally compelling stories, pasts, things to deal with in their lives, and plenty of mystery. The descriptions were top-notch. The smells, the sensations, the little details of fire and smoke. It was gorgeous. This book has everything I love in a book. I never ever find book characters that I love this much. They were so realistic and wonderful and I was with them the whole way. I adored Gabriel and Layne and her little brother, Simon. The fact that Simon is deaf was handled so well and I loved that he was good at basketball and oh my gosh I could gush about this book for hours.

 

What I’ll probably read next:

13494365

Spirit by Brigid Kemmerer

Since Spark was so good, I am definitely going to read the third book in the elemental series, Spirit, which follows Hunter. Also I peeked at the first page. Best first sentence ever: “Hunter Garrity awoke to the click of a gun.”

 

 

 

Read any of these? Interested in reading any of these? Please comment below!

18 thoughts on “WWW Wednesday February 10, 2016

  1. You’ve got me intrigued about the Elementals series. It’s so great to find a book you love that much (though I find that then when you have to eventually go off and read something unrelated, the next book is a bit disappointing just because it’s not the one you loved).

    This is my WWW post this week.

    Like

    1. You should definitely check out the Elementals series! Funny that you mention that because I read the second book and liked it more than the first! I’m also quite excited since the third book follows a character I’ve been curious about since he showed up halfway through Book 1. Hopefully, I won’t be disappointed. Reviews look good. We’ll see. 🙂

      Liked by 1 person

    1. Yes, the cover does give off a happy feeling. Hopefully that means a happy ending. Right from the start, it’s unbelievably dark. Lots and lots of death and murder. I’m hoping to have it finished by next Wednesday!

      Liked by 1 person

    1. The Siren is good so far. 🙂 I seem to remember you were turned off by the love triangle in Storm. If you’d be willing, you could skip Storm and start at Spark. It recaps what happened in the first book pretty fast.

      Liked by 1 person

  2. “There were no stupid love triangles, just the natural progression of two people getting to know one another and growing to care for one another”

    I had to LOL at that statement. It’s sad that it is rare to find a two person relationship..

    Happy you enjoyed one of your books this week, but hope next week is better! Hope you have a great week. Happy Wednesday 🙂

    Like

    1. Love triangles are so overdone lately. I don’t mind them when they’re done well, but more often than not, they’re unnecessary complications just there to add conflict and drama. Also without a triangle, there’s more time to explore the development of the relationship between the two.
      Thank you! Hope your week is great too. Happy Wednesday! 🙂

      Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

