Book Reading · Uncategorized

WWW Wednesday January 20, 2016

So I said I probably was going to do these every other week, but I managed to (start and) finish a book since last Wednesday. So here goes my second week in a row: WWW Wednesday meme by samanneelizabeth!

img_1384-0

Three W’s:
What are you currently reading?
What did you recently finish reading?
What do you think you’ll read next?

 

What I’m Reading:
23460952

Bounce by Noelle August (Pseudonym for Veronica Rossi and Lorin Oberwager)

This is a New Adult novel I picked up the other day and instantly became enchanted with. It’s been a fast read. I’m already half-way through it, and I am loving it. The chapters alternate between Grey’s POV and Skyler’s POV, and they are simply adorable, both with distinct personalities, interests, and stuff going on. Not a single character feels undeveloped. And within the book, they’re making a modern-day movie of Emma, one of my favorite Jane Austen novels. What’s not to love?

 

What I recently read:
17924987

Fan Art by Sarah Tregay

The title intrigued me, so I picked it up and tore through it. Reviews of this book have been very mixed, people either seem to love it or hate it, and I understand why. Personally though, it was just the right amount of fluff. Overall, I enjoyed it. The main character Jamie is in love with his best friend Mason, but he’s afraid to tell him because 1) their friendship might change, 2) Mason might cut him out of his life for being gay, and 3) the subtle hints at Mason’s affection must be his imagination. I was totally cool with Jamie and his group of art-geek friends. Characters I didn’t like: Michael and Mason. I know Mason is the object of Jamie’s affection, but for reasons that would involve many words to explain, I hate him. And I didn’t hate him until near the end. (I might do a full review on this book later, but there will be major spoilers in it.)

 

What I’ll probably read next:
13132816

Emmy & Oliver by Robin Benway

I’ve heard this is a sweet feel-good story with some emotional undertones, which is exactly what I’m in the mood to read, so I’ll probably skip ahead to read this before getting back to Wicked Little Secrets by Kara Taylor and The Geography of You and Me by Jennifer E. Smith.

20 thoughts on “WWW Wednesday January 20, 2016

  1. Sorry ‘Fan Art’ wasn’t more enjoyable. I felt like the author was riding on the popularity of Fangirl with the title so I was hesitant but if the love interest is so unlikable, I don’t think I’d spend my time reading it. I hate when a character is in love with a jerk! Happy reading and thanks for participating in WWW Wednesday!

    Like

    1. Yeah, it definitely used the similar title to Fangirl to attract slash fangirls. I’ll admit that’s why I picked it up. While it wasn’t great, it was the right book at the right time. I needed something fluffy and character-driven and it was so easy-to-read. Jerks are the worst though, especially when they pretend to be good guys.
      Thanks! These updates are fun. 🙂

      Like

  2. OMGOSH…I love Emma! Favsies! I am pretty much in love with modern day interpretations–especially of classics I’m in love with. Now I have to pick up that book! Thanks for the recommendation!

    Like

    1. Emma is fantastic! Hopefully, you’ll enjoy the book. I’ve been liking it lots. I’m a big fan of modern day interpretations too. 🙂 Are there any ones you could recommend to me?

      Like

Leave a Reply

